Deer & Lasers

We are never too old to learn things about guns. Its something I do on a daily basis; often something that causes me to change my opinion about things. In my job you have to keep an open mind. All gun folk should do the same.

A buddy of mine called the other day to tell me I was indeed right about lasers on handguns. It seems he and his wife ran into a deer on the highway; a frequent occurrence here in West Virginia. My friend took out his wife’s S&W J-Frame and went back to dispatch the deer. It was dark of course. He said he could see the deer just fine but could not see the sights on the little revolver. Three shots later he had finally dispatched the suffering animal.

“If I’d had them CRIMSON TRACE LASER GRIPS you talk about all the time on my pistol, it would have been a one-shot deal.”

Well, yeah. Laser grips are a tool; a tool that has wide application. When you need one, there is no substitute. Early handguns lasers were gimmicks, its true. However, the concept has always been sound. Crimson Trace laser grips have validated the concept.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Deer & Lasers

  1. Dennis Kendall says:

    Richard I live in Umatilla Fl by Brian Hawthorne who’s Blain Hawthorne brother
    My wife is shooting a Savage model 10 in 243 cal, my daughter is shooting a rem model 110 in 243 cal both have scopes. A friend of mine reloaded 243 bullets for me 87 gr hornady hollow w/ 41 grains of power I don’t know the FPS for this round yet, what would be a good zero for these guns or how high @ 100 yds and do you know what would be the ballistics for this round @ 100,200,300 yds. I’ll talk to u later about my savage 303 ballistics
    Thanks anything will help
    Truly Dennis Kendall
    352-516-5886

    • gunwriter says:

      Dennis,

      Not enough data to give precise information. Would need to know velocity. But, given a velocity of 3100 fps, a 225 yard zero will put you about 2 inches high at 100, 1 inch high at 200 and 5 inches low at 300. Depending on what you are hunting or the distances you plan to shoot, this is probably a good compromise.

      • Jon says:

        I’m not sure I would recommend many 300 yard shots with the 243 on deer sized game if this is what you are using them for. This is stretching the round out to a distance that is at the very upper end of effectiveness.

      • gunwriter says:

        243 at 300 is fine for deer with the right bullet. My experience in the field has proven that. As long as you have enough retained velocity to insure bullet expansion (1800-2000+), I would not worry about the .243. However, an 87 grain Hornady HP is not the bullet for this job. I’ve taken several deer around the 300 yard mark with the 95 gr. Accutip (SST) with very good results.

      • Jon says:

        My comment wasn’t that clear. I was speaking about the bullet mentioned. You are entirely correct with the heavier bullet..

  2. Jon says:

    I have some Tritium Sights on my Kahr. My girlfriend was having trouble with sighting her MK9 Kahr so I bought her some Crimson Trace Grips for Christmas. I’ve never been a believer in them but after trying the Crimson Trace myself I’m a believer now. Plus, they are pretty cool to play with at night sighting on the barn door, tree in the backyard (unloaded gun pointed in a safe direction of course),

Leave a Reply

