Moose on the Menu

In November I’ll be hunting moose in Newfoundland for the second time. The last time – due to bad shooting on my part – I lost a moose while hunting there. Not counting wild hogs, that moose was one of only two big game animals I have failed to recover.

I have some leeway on this hunt but I’ll be using a Mossberg bolt-action rifle and Swarovski  optics. So, the question is, which Mossberg bolt-action, in what caliber and which Swarovski rifle scope? One thing is not negotiable; I will not use a .30-06. And, Swarovksi EL binoculars will for sure be what’s around my neck. Like my son said, “These binos are so good you can see into the future.”

 

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Moose on the Menu

  1. Doc B says:

    375 H&H, hands down. (If it’s available.) 9.3x62mm would be my second choice.

    Of course, an AR will usually take down a moose (if you use the grenade launcher part…).

  2. Matt says:

    I’ve never hunted moose. Does your post sugget the ’06 is under powered for moose, or do you have some prejudice against the grand old cartridge that’s probably dispatcted more bad guys and big game than any other in the world?

  3. Jon says:

    I taken several moose with a 30-06. Whats wrong with that caliber?

  4. Jon says:

    BTW, if not a 30-06 then how about the 7mm mag? Plenty of punch and good range. This is plenty of gun for a moose

  5. Flakbait says:

    How about trying one of their 30-30 Lever action guns…I guess you will need to get close, but Moose are pretty large targets.

  6. Mike W says:

    My hunting partner lost a moose when we were there with an 06 (400yd shot badly conducted follow up etc etc) Really lgotta love the .300 win mag for animals like that (200gr partitions do a heck of a job @ about 2900 fps). 358 norma, 338-06, or old school european 6.5×55, 375 H&H if you feel like dragging alot of weight up an down those hills in the tanglefoot. Have fun wish I was going with you. Personally I’d probably be using my kimber montana 300 wsm with 180gr somethings. That gun seems to be removing my excuses for new rifles:) Love the Bat quote BTW

    • Jon says:

      400yrd shot? This does not say muxh for hunting skill and a badly placed shot at that distance says little for shooting skill or the judgement to know your beyond your range

      • mike wodjensku says:

        Yes that is true, he was new to the sport and shot a that distance shouldn’t have been taken, he did this at the guides advice had I been with him I would have likely discouraged him from doing so. With that said I would and have taken game at distances of 400 yds but I know I can do it when the conditions are right and I know my bullet and rifle well as well as the range.

  7. RG says:

    The last moose hunt I was on in northern Quebec I had a 7 mag, one guy had a .270, three guys 30-06s and one old lady had a 308. The old lady killed a full grown cow with her 308 and the guy with the 270 brought down (NOT killed) a bull after 5 shots at less than 100 yards. One of the guys with a 30 06 finished the bull off. I sure wouldn’t take a 270.

  8. Samantha Mann says:

    I know the long story, play a part in it, and share the sentiment. The 06 is vile. However one can never go wrong with the 308. It ha. Been my favorite for many years. Getting a new ultra lite from Melvin Forbes might be changing me into a 260 gal though. I’d like to pop a moose with that 260.

    • Mike W says:

      I’ve been looking for a light lefty 260 for Li (funny how great minds think alike), I told her how much a NULA was last night and she choked and then said she’s quite happy with her 300 mag:)

      • gunwriter says:

        That is an easy “choke” to live with until you actually try a NULA. If I could only have one bolt action rifle I’d save or sale until it was a NULA.

      • gunwriter says:

        Don’t overlook the new Forbes rifle in .270 for about $ 1400 or a the possibility of a used NULA returned for a new barrel.

      • Mike W says:

        No that is a serious endorsement! I think I need to get my hands one. Keep an eye out for a used lefty for the wifey.

  9. Mike Wodjenski says:

    It looks like they only offer rifles in vanilla calibers, ok there’s a reason they’re vanilla,,,they work. It looks like your choices are 30-06 270 308 and 7mm08. Of these the obvious choice is the 06. But I might consider the 270 or 7mm, out to 300-350 yd with good bullets should be no problem, moose aren’t really tough from what I can tell, they just stand up a long time after being dead. Ask anybody whose ever put an arrow through one, an arrow only carries about 50 ft.lb. KE

  10. Mike Wodjenski says:

    Correction to earlier statement, I just saw they have 7mm 300 and 338 magnums, the only question on these would be which one do you have the most ammo for?

  11. Samantha Mann says:

    I’ve been hunting with “men’s” guns my whole life. I got a NULA made to fit with a nice looking glass on top finally. When I shouldered it with a perfect fit and laid crosshairs on the whitetail, it was too easy. The trigger was so smooth, I thought the deer fell over on purpose instead of by necessity. I think it was just nice to finally be validated in that shooting had always been harder than it needed to because my arms are too short.

  12. danontherock says:

    I live in Newfoundland and I can certainly attest that the 30-06 is certainly suitable for moose. I lost one animal in my life and it wasn’t the failing of the calibre that caused that loss. I certainly hope you have a great hunt here.
    Best of luck

Leave a Reply

