My Latest Mistake

Yesterday I told you about the Colt Gunsite CCO 1911. Today I made the mistake of shooting it. Gunsite owner Buz Mills sent his personal CCO down to the range and Gunsite Instructor Chris Weare run me through several drills with the pistol – 50 rounds worth.

The pistol handles every bit as good as a Lightweight Commander but its a bit lighter and easier to conceal due to the shorter grip. I REALLY liked this pistol and since I’m here for seven more days one might actually beat me home.

As stated, I would want to replace the sights but instead of the XS Big Dot I might go with the Novak Ghost Tritium Dot rear and a XS Standard Dot front. I’d also need to change the trigger. The CCO comes with a short trigger and I prefer a long trigger on a 1911. This might be why my group was a tad left of center. (Please don’t hold being to the LEFT against me.)

Aside from that and a Crimson Trace Laser Grip, this gun is ready to go. All it needs is some Galco leather. This all of course is personal preference, which is one of the great things about a 1911 – you can have it your way.

I’ve always thought a Officers frame and Commander slide were the way to go and now I know.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in NEW / COOL GEAR and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Latest Mistake

  1. rubibrock says:

    I agree with you on the Officer’s grip and Commander slide. Maybe I should build one, and give my 1991-A1 Commander the retirement it’s earned. I really don’t need to eat. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My New Pistol | EMPTY CASES

Leave a Reply

