It ant no Worker, but…

Spyderco used to make a clip knife called the Worker. It was, without question, my favorite general carry knife. I lost it like is often the case with a good knife. I figure I put it down somewhere that I was working on something that needed a sharp edge.

At any rate, Spyderco has a new knife (I can’t convince them to bring back the Worker.) they are calling the Yojimbo2. It is a bit larger than the original Worker but it does have a unique and very pointed blade that you could pick your teeth with. (A chore often performed with my old Worker knife.)

Spyderco Yojimbo2

I’ve just started carrying the Yojimbo2 so my experience is limited but I do like the way it feels in hand, the 3-1/4-inch CPM-S30V hollow-ground blade, rear liner lock and the textured G-10 scales. Right now it is riding, tip-up, in my Mountain Khaki Teton Twill Pants which have a perfect shelf cut on the pocket for a clip knife. The Yojimbo2 is an interesting blade worth checking out.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in NEW / COOL GEAR and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It ant no Worker, but…

  1. Trent says:

    I just moved from Colorado about 15 minutes from the SpyderCo facility in Golden. I’ve been using their knives since 1993 when I was issued the original “Clip-It” model while attached to a SEAL team. I still have that knife despite being a little worse for wear. I visited the SpyderCo showroom recently to buy a new knife with a non-serrated blade. I really loved the way the Yojimbo2 felt in the hand but I knew that it would only be a matter of weeks if not days until I snapped off that sharp tip on the blade. That think is scary sharp at the tip. Surgical! I ended up going with the Manix2 which is very similar to your model except the blade is a little more traditional, and it uses a unique ball-bearing lock. Not sure if I can post a photo in a reply but I will try. If not, here is the link.

    [IMG]http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g211/trental/Forum%20Photos/Manix2.jpg[/IMG]

    SpyderCo will forever be my brand of choice. They are fantastic. I do wish they would bring all of their manufacturing back to the USA though. Your knife and mine are US models made right in Golden CO. Nice choice! I hope you are more gentle on that tip than I could be. 😉

  2. Michael B. Saari says:

    I like Spyderco too: My favorite EDC is the Spyderco G-10 Dryagonfly and not just because it easily fits in my church pants pocket either. Its my favorite little knife that does everything from cutting up apples on the trail to cutting string.

  3. Jim Dodd says:

    I have a folding knife guru friend who trains with and carries folders, and he thinks a lot of the Yojimbo…jim

Leave a Reply

