Better than My Birthday

Today is Bat Mann’s birthday. If you follow this blog you know I refer to Bat as the Gunwriter Assistant. (His real name is Sabastian. His nickname came first and I figured he could use it to his advantage and he does.) He posts targets, retrieves targets, picks up brass and test fires guns for me all the time, without pay. He’s actually writing too. Bat puts together a 200 word sidebar for every First Shots column I write for Rifle Firepower magazine.

At any rate, he turns 12 today. This means he has been hunting and killing stuff for half his life and shooting for 60% of it. He knows a lot of things kids his age don’t. I let him go in late to school today, even took him to Hardee’s for breakfast. After school he has his 2nd of a 3 day hunter safety course. I asked him what he learned on the first day and he said the same stuff you have already taught me. (I must be doing my daddy job right.)

Bat Mann

So why am I bragging about my son and his birthday on a blog about guns. Several reasons; Bat is a hunter and a shooter, he’s in the middle of his hunter safety class and that’s what dads are supposed to do. And, you know what?

After three days at the SHOT show in Vegas listening to a collection of Tactards brag about how cool, how bad and how tactical there are, I figured I ought to do a little bragging too.

No, I don’t work for some alphabet agency, a tight T-shirt on me just looks like it is too small, I don’t have an eagle, a gun or a dragon tattooed on my bicep, sometimes my pocket knife is actually in my pocket and I didn’t threaten to beat the life out of anyone or drive my truck really fast yesterday. So, if any of you want to give me any grief about all the stuff I don’t have or didn’t do, that’s fine. Just ignore me or call me Robin. Bat Mann has my back.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better than My Birthday

  1. Tony Yates says:

    Richard, I really envy your lifestyle and the way you are raising your son to be a responsible man!
    It sounds like you have a terrific family! God bless! . . .
    Tony Yates . . . Winston-Salem, NC

  2. JERRY DOVE says:

    Hey Richard, give Bat my best wishes on his Birthday. Keep up the good work, you are raising that boy right!

Leave a Reply

