I Told Myself – I’m Not Going There

But I cannot resist. It’s this Tebow thing.

First let me say, my religion, like my sex life and my time on the toilet, is personal – I don’t intend to share it with anyone but close family and they avoid the bathroom when I’m in there. However, I got no beef with others kneeling, crossing their heart, or saying a prayer. So let me say up front, I could care lass what Tebow does.

Now we have a school in New York that has passed into the twilight zone. READ THIS

Tebow has been finding ways to get wins for Denver. I don’t care if you like him or Denver or not, that Team is doing things any team would aspire to do. It has been miraculous! (Please, don’t read anything into that word.) Their real test is coming up. If they beat New England, Tebow and Denver will be the most amazing football team of 2011. If they lose, everyone will say, Tebow’s streak could not last, that he was a flash in the pan, too young and not skilled enough to quarterback in the NFL. They’ll forget all those games he has won and mock his faith.

Here is what I am saying, leave the boy alone. A boy who seems to be as clean as a new dishrag and just basically a damn fine person. Why would you not want your kid to respect him.

As far as this Tebowing thing goes, gee, I kneel down beside every animal I hunt and kill. And you know what; no one has any more idea what I’m thinking when I do it than they do about what Tebow is thinking when he does it!

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Told Myself – I’m Not Going There

  1. Michael B. Saari says:

    I am in full agreement.

  2. Mike Wodjenski says:

    Right on! I do the same thing, and have since I shot my first deer when I was 10, nobody taught me to do it. It just seems like a fitting thank you to show respect for a life just taken for one’s own purposes. Good for you Tebow, but GO PATS!:)

  3. Romey says:

    Wish the world had as much common sense!

  4. Rev. Roger A. Shervington says:

    It’s nice that young people can see someone like Tebow giving thanks. Appreciate your thoughts, Richard.

  5. C D Roberts Jr says:

    What once was a sport built on the principles of honor, courage and respect has become such a farse that a player that kneels and gives thanks for his abilities is called out and mocked. Football was once a “Man Builder”. When Men were considered Men because of thier character. It has now become a “Thug Builder” where convicted felons, women beaters and players with the moral character of an alley cat are worshipped and praised. Not to mentioned payed millions of dollars to win games. Sadly enough it is not only pro football where this is witnessed. It trickles all the way down to the little guys. Richard I am sure you know well what this is about. Your opinions are well stated as always. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

