O M G

Um, did I really type that as a header of a post? Maybe I’m not as old as I thought. Or maybe, a Christmas present can make you feel a bit younger than you really are.

Right in the middle of working on an article about Nosler’s new Trophy Grade Rifle, the brown truck delivered a package from Galco today. A custom 1880’s rig in Havanah leather for my Ruger, 50th Anniversary, Flat Top Blackhawk. It is exquisite, even has my initials! Makes me feel like I was 10 again. You know, back when you played cowboys and Indians with dime store cap guns and plastic holsters.

This is a great rig and I have Mike Barham and the talented craftsmen at Galco to thank for it. It rides high – not like one of those movie cowboy rigs – and will allow me to tote my Blackhawk and plenty of ammo for my Ruger 77/357 rifle anywhere I go. And, I’ll look good too; at least from the waist down.

Here is a Christmas gift idea: If you know anyone that likes single action revolvers, give Galco a call and package up one of these rigs for them. On Christmas day they can gear up, step outside in the snow and saunter around like John Wayne while bust’n a cap or two.

Look for an upcoming article on this holster, revolver and Ruger’s new .357 Magnum bolt-action rifle. In the mean time, get geared up; you can kill zombies with a single action too. At least that’s what Bat Mann tells me.

Geez, I can’t believe I said that! Zombies again! What has come over me? Ah, to hell with it. I ant no writer. I’m going to strap this rig on and step out to my range. I do my best work there!

RAM

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in NEW / COOL GEAR and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to O M G

  1. John in KS says:

    Helluva nice rig! I think that just went on my wish list.

Leave a Reply

