Normal Clothes for Hillbillies and other Ourdoor Adventurers

There is no law that states you must dress in camo to hunt or like a tactard to carry a handgun for protection. What ever happened to wearing regular clothes? Just because you are shooting or carrying a gun does not mean you have to put on some sort of super-sexy, casually-cool uniform that says to the world, I’m a gun guy.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a gun guy, proud of it and don’t care who knows it. But, guns are not such a part of my life that I have to wear gun/hunting clothes just because I’m going to the range, hunting or Wal-Mart. (If you ever see a picture of me on the PeopleofWalmart site, I’ll be the normal looking guy. The one with the weird look on his face staring at the freak.)

Just because I’m wearing regular clothes does not mean I’m not a good hunter or a gun savvy individual. It just means I don’t put on a uniform to go shoot. I did that for a long time as a soldier and as a cop. I’m jut a regular guy and that’s how I like to dress.

That’s one reason I’ve supplanted a large portion of my wardrobe with gear from Mountain Khakis (MK). No, they did not call me up and offer me free gear just so I would write about their stuff. I called them. Told them I liked their pants and shirts and applied to be a part of their Ambassador program. MK gear looks like something a regular person would wear but it has been engineered specifically for a rugged – hillbilly – lifestyle.

Their Original Mountain Pant might be tuff enough to resist gator teeth and their Teton Flannel Shirt is so soft my wife can’t quit rubbing on it. (I don’t have a problem with that.) If you like to carry a compact handgun, their Stagecoach Jacket and Vest have built-in, hidden pockets on each side. In mine you’ll usually find a Diamondback DB9 or DB380.

MK gear is durable, comfortable, well made, looks good and no one will ever get me confused with one of those range weasels dressed up to make you think they just got off a chopper in Afghanistan. Being a gun owner, shooter or hunter does not mean you’re living a lifestyle that is abnormal, requiring you to dress differently than the general population. Quite the contrary; it shows you are normal with just a extra bit of common sense.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in NEW / COOL GEAR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

