30 Rem AR Down-Range Performance

HERE is a new article in the digital version of AR Guns & Hunting on the terminal performance of the .30 Remington AR.

Various recovered bullets fired into test media from a .30 Remington AR

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 30 Rem AR Down-Range Performance

  1. Bob M. says:

    Thank you! Thats a great article, although they didn’t list any of the powders I purchased for this caliber. X8208 – Benchmark – H4198. The 150gr. hornady SST with 35gr. of H332 looks very promising.

  2. Bob M. says:

    I just did a little research on Accurate Arms 2200 rifle powder and I have to say I like the data that is supplied in the online Accurate Arms reloading manual. This powder is very versatile an can be used for all .30 Rem AR bullet weights (110gr. to 165gr.) I wish I knew about this powder before I purchased 3 different types of powders to accommodate different weight bullets. I also like the fact that it has a “small granule size that allows excellent metering.” (H4198 is a long stick powder) My only question is how temperature stable is it?

    • gunwriter says:

      Temperature insensitivity is one reason I was initially drawn to 322 – it was accurate too. But here is the thing with the 30 Rem AR; at its maximum range of around 400 yards, most bullets will not expand much at all past that range, a little bit of fluctuation in velocity will likely matter very little as far as if you hit or miss.

      To be honest, I have not found a powder this cartridge does not like in both a bolt gun and the AR.

      If you can find the most recent copy of the magazine, “Book of the AR15” – it has a black cover with two ARs on it – it has an article I did on reloading the 30 Rem AR and lists a bunch of data.

  3. Bob M. says:

    So far so good… All hand loads I tried were sub moa at 100 yards. As far as factory ammo – 150gr. corelokts 1.5 ” @ 100 yards (5 shots) – 125gr. corelokts 1.25 ” @ 100 yards (5 shots) – Remington Accutip 125gr. .75″ @ 100 yards (5 shots) – Of course these were the best groups I shot – shot off a harris 6-9 BR bipod with a bean bag under the buttstock. Im using a leupold VX-II 4-12X40 with super high Mark IV rings and I also replaced the stock trigger with a timney 3lb. single stage.

    • gunwriter says:

      Good move on the Timney and your accuracy results are similar to what I am getting from the R 15 – on average.

      • Brian Smith says:

        Nice article! Thanks for the research. It looked like a lot of fun!

        Hornady 150’s and Nosler 125 BTs are what I’m using the most in my rifle on top of Benchmark. The 125’s took two deer this past season. Second deer was close, about 20 yards, and the 125 BT literally exploded inside. I also have a good supply of 150 Nosler partitions to play with as well and will probably use them this fall. Hard to beat those Accubonds though. I’m going to try some H322 in the next couple of weeks. I need to go get pistol and small rifle primers anyway. I love the way H335 shoots in my .223. Hopefully the 322 performs similarly in the 30 AR.

        My only issue remains brass availability. The cases I do have seem to last a long time. The R15 beats them up a little but there’s been no signs of pressure, splits, or stretching. My son, and now my daughter, don’t mind shooting the factory stuff for me though.

        The 30 AR is now my “Kentucky brush gun”. Terminal performance is great at the ranges I normally shoot here, 150 yards or less) and it handles very well. Kind of noisy charging it in the stand, but I can live with that.

  4. Brian Smith says:

    I bought some Reloader 10X for the 125’s a while back but never got around to trying it. Does 33 grains with the 150 gr bullets sound like a reasonable starting load?

    • gunwriter says:

      I have only tried 10X (37.2 grains) with 110 grain bullets (2918 fps) but would suspect 33 grains with a 150 grain bullet closer to a max than starting load. Bill Wilson told me he was running 150 grain Hornady bullets over 33.5 grains of 10X and getting max velocity. Logic says start at 28 grains which is a reduction in powder charge similar to the increase in bullet weight – I’d probably start at 30.

  5. Pingback: Big Green’s Biggest Bumble – Birth & Death of the .30 Rem AR | EMPTY CASES

  6. Pingback: .30 Remington AR – The Saga Continues | EMPTY CASES

  7. Brian Smith says:

    I had a pound of H4198 that was unopened and wasn’t going to get used in the .204, a box of 110 gr Hornady VMax’s, and a Remington 30 AR that was begging to be let out of the safe. I loaded up a bunch of test rounds using the OCW method and found that this AR really likes 34.5 grains of H4198, the 110 VMax and a COAL of 2.20″. Three shots covered with a dime, two in the same hole! This rifle might be fun for ‘yotes in a few weeks! I sure wish Remington would release some brass…

Leave a Reply

