THE ROAD – to Recovery

Today I feel much better. Not sure whether it is due to almost a week of laying on my ass doing nothing or because I might finally be beating this bug. (I did get to watch McLintok, Jeremiah Johnson, She Wore a Yellow Ribbon and more commercials than one human should see in a life time.) On an even more positive note, it seems every one in the house is feeling better – maybe because I am not as grouchy.

As for the long term damage, I may be so far behind with several articles that editors will be looking for a replacement, I have coughed so much I believe a frontal lobe in my brain has become permanently detached and I might have a hernia. On the plus side, the non-stop gagging seems to have only dislocated a tonsil and exaggerated the eyeball bulge condition which seemed to come from the incessant pounding in my head. I’m so pale I look like a character out of one of those teen vampire movies. My kids think its cool, my wife tries not to look at me; except when she is coughing and casting its an “all your fault look.”

So help me, if I had anything to do with any one of you contacting this vile sickness – and you can prove it – I will give you a new gun for Christmas. If on the other hand, you are the person that passed the plague along to me, watch your six cause I’m coming for ya.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE ROAD – to Recovery

  1. RG says:

    glad you are getting better, more or less

  2. C D Roberts Jr says:

    Glad your on the mend. Will see you soon.

  3. Patrick says:

    Can’t blame me – I was healthy before I saw you on the 21st at SHOT and I’ve been healthy since. Though, with 2 cross-country flights I think that was sheer luck more than anything.

Leave a Reply

