Inquiring Minds Want to Know

Just curious about a few things like…

Are more companies building ARs or 1911s?

How many magazine covers will have a 1911 on the front this year? It is the 100 year anniversary.

What do think will make the most magazine covers this year, a 1911 or an AR?

Does anyone care about hunting anymore?

Is long-range hunting a fad or the future?

What happened to going hunting with just a 30-30 and a good knife?

Are any of the folks buying defensive handguns actually taking a class to learn how to shoot them?

And of course, we all want to know if Britney will go back to rehab in 2011 and if Jen and Brad will get back together?

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Inquiring Minds Want to Know

  1. RG says:

    I don’t care at all about 1911s and ARs. I DO care about hunting and for the last 4-5 years have gone back to basics, i.e. 35 Remington Marlin and a good knife. I will be teaching my wife and her friends how to use their new defensive handguns.

  2. gunwriter says:

    Good for you, I’m also a .35 Remington fan. I spent some time hunting this year with a lever gun in .45 Colt and really enjoyed it. I also like ARs and 1911s – a lot more than I do Britney Spears or Jennifer Anniston – but wish gun magazines would cover story some of the less popular shooting activities and guns sometimes.

  3. RG says:

    yeah, I don’t care too much about Britney, Jen OR Brad either. never have

  4. Donovan H. says:

    I do care about 1911’s and I do care about hunting (and AR’s) and would like to put them all together. However, I live here in VA and can’t really figure out how the heck to hunt here. I understand the whole licensing scheme (I have a valid out of state hunter safety course cert). So, I would have to get a General Hunting license, possibly a county specific hunting license, the big game license (hopefully VA legislature doesn’t change that and charge for each type of animal) and if I want to hunt with my bow – well that’s another story I have yet to figure out. All the above said, I still don’t have a clue how to go out and find the land to hunt on – public vs. private? I’ve hunted before, but never in a place that confuses me as much as VA. I know there is a lot of talk about getting more people involved in hunting, but as I didn’t grow up in VA, trying to hunt here without knowing anyone to show the ropes is difficult. I know its a bit of a rant, I think VA is great, but sometimes I scratch my head.

    • gunwriter says:

      Donovan,

      I guess I’m a bit perplexed at some of your comments. I live in WV but have hunted in VA often. Some on public land, some private and some on a hunting lease. Of course, depending on where you are (south-east) it could be more difficult. Check with the DNR, gun shops, and maybe folks at the local range for a location to hunt.

      I can tell you that the public land in WV and VA offers great hunting opportunities. I took a bear in WV this year on public land only about 30 minutes from the VA border.

      Stay at and good luck. Let me know if I can be of specific help.

      RAM

    • Bob H says:

      Don’t feel too bad Donovan. I live in Northern VA (inside the beltway!) and have had a hell of a time finding a decent range, a trainer or two, a gun store much less a GOOD gun store, and even people who will admit knowing which end the round comes out of.
      Apparently there is a huge divide here between the rural people who grew up here and know everyone (they are the ones who own and run all the clubs, private and by invitation only) And those of us who are “imports” and live in cities and suburbs(where ranges arf scarce as hen’s teeth). I finally broke down and started bugging people at the NRA range (NRA National headquarters is about an hour away). It may take decades before I can join a club.

Leave a Reply

