Out Foxed

So I’m at my desk writing my ammo column for Shooting Illustrated magazine when the phone rings. It was deer killing Sammy Reese, the Editor at FMG publications. We just got the hellos out of the way when I looked out the window and saw this big, red fox at my back porch.

I threw the phone down, grabbed the S&W M&P 15-22 out of my closet (loaded with CCI Stingers) and headed for the door. Last year while I was at the SHOT Show we had a rabid fox at my house that was put down by a trooper friend. That’s another and even better story.

Time I get outside the fox is 90 yards away loping down the road so I open up with the M&P which has a Zeiss Compact Point (red dot) for a sight. I can tell I connect but have no idea where the hit was and the fox disappears behind some trees. I take off running and catch him limping through the field and throw another 6 shots his way – All misses.

Finally, just before he slips into the woods I connect again. It looked like a hit in the ass. Then I hear the gunwriter assistant yelling. He had run up behind me (In his bare feet). He had smartly grabbed a box of ammo. (Is he trained right or what?) Problem was, he grabbed .22 Mag ammo.

My dog had also arrived by this time and we hit the woods. She pushed the fox out of a pile of rocks and as it zigged and zagged through the woods I missed with my last shot.

This experience was undoubtedly the worst display of shooting I have ever done or witnessed. I know I hit the fox at least twice and I know CCI Stingers are enough for a fox if you hit ’em right – I’ve done extensive gelatin testing with this load. It was just plain bad shooting.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in STORIES & SUCH. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out Foxed

  1. C D Roberts Jr says:

    Hey Richard. Sorry to hear of your (Miss)fortune. hahaha Stupid pun intended. If you have anymore problems with these critters I would be glad to help you with them. I am a trapper and I am always looking for new territory. I would be glad to take the gunwriter assistant with me and give him the fox if we catch it. Always looking for young blood to introduce to the sport. Tell him hello and hope to see you soon.

    PS:Have not heard anything about the banquet yet but will let you know.

    Dale

Leave a Reply

