Called him in WY, Killed him WV

So I spend a day in the best coyote looking country I have seen while trying to call one up. Lost count of the sets and miles walked. Joe Arterburn (Coyote Joe) and I played every tune we knew on predator calls. NOTHING, I mean nothing showed up. But, I know something had to be coming, we played some really good songs!

Yesterday Sis and I took Dad and the Gunwriter Assistant up to our camp to finalize the new bathroom for hunting season. This morning I took Bat Mann out for a quick squirrel hunt before we made the 5 hour drive home.

No lie, I was sitting under a tree about 10 feet from Bat thinking how cool it would be if a coyote walked by; never seen one in WV. I opened my eyes and here he come loping by at 20 yards. Afraid to spook him with too much movement, I triggered a shot left handed – that has worked on deer and an aoudad before – but I missed.

Father and son's first tag team coyote.

The song dog jumped, ran about five yards, stopped and looked back while I worked the bolt on the 77/22M and switched shoulders. Then, I whacked him at the base of the neck with a 30 gr. Hornady V-Max. (Not a real good shot.) He dropped but was trying to get up and Bat unloaded on him with a 10/22 loaded with CCI Velocitors. I think this excited him more than his first deer.

What did I learn? Call a coyote in WY and it takes about a week for him to get to WV.

The 30 gr. Hornady V Max performed perfectly on the coyote but the shot was a bit off-mark.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY, STORIES & SUCH and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Called him in WY, Killed him WV

  1. RG says:

    That’s a funny story!

  2. Michael Kinn says:

    I hear that WY werewolves travel a mite faster…probably would have seen HIM in WV in three days. Thanks for the peek into the home life with your son. Keep up the mentoring in the woods. We need all the future hunters we can get.

  3. John in KS says:

    I LOLed at the last line! Funny stuff!

  4. Papa Whiskey says:

    That’s just plain cool!

  5. Dale Roberts says:

    Way to go guys! I wish I would have known you 4 years ago Richard. Got quite a bit of shooting in for coyotes in McDowell and Wyoming Counties. Not many left around where I hunted last time I went. Maybe we can go sometime in Jan or Feb. A few days after a big snow is prime time. Congrats on the dog and tell Batt hello.

Leave a Reply

