Remington’s 700 & CNBC

When I was a patrol officer at the first department I worked at, our Lietenant shot himself in the leg at the range one day. He was also our firearms instructor. The chief, knowing my background in firearms training, called me in the office and asked my opinion of the matter. Then, he advised that the Lieutenant had claimed the pistol – a Llama .22 LR – was defective and went off accidentally.

I repsonded that I had never seen ANY gun just go off aside from machine guns that cooked off rounds because they were so hot. I also told the chief that it really did not matter why the gun went off because the lieutenant had violated the ONLY really important rule of gun safety: Don’t point guns at things you do not want to shoot, maim, kill or ventilate.

A few months later I was appointed as the department’s firearms instructor – Either because of my wit or experience. They never said.

But the point remains, you should not point guns at people. I know there are, depending on who you ask, between four and ten rules of gun safety. All you really need to remember is to not point guns at things you do not want to shoot, maim, kill or ventilate. Follow this rule the rest of your life and you can break all the other safety rules and still sleep at night.

OK, I’ll shut up and leave you with two things: One, I have never experienced a Remington 700 trigger that would allow the gun to go off at any time other than when it was pulled.

Second: Dave Petzal explains the entire CNBC fiasco much better than I could. Click HERE to read it.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remington’s 700 & CNBC

  1. Jim Dodd says:

    CBS ran with the same story in 2005. I have had a Rem M700 fire on safety manipulation, but strictly following the Four rules prevented a horrible outcome. That was on an Idaho mule deer hunt in in ’78, and I have followed the Rem Walker trigger since.

    My Remington rifles have a Canjar trigger and a Neil Jones modified Rem fire control unit. I figure the Rem XMark Pro trigger fixed the earlier problems…

    jim

  2. RG says:

    I have owned many 700s, I currently have a few. All the triggers have been worked on by a very good gunsmith. NONE have EVER misfired or gone off when they shouldn’t have, NONE, ever!

  3. Mike Wodjenski says:

    I have had several rifles that would slam fire or fire when the saftey is moved to the fire position they all had trigger work or poor maintainance. One was a custom mauser 98 with trigger work, a custom mod 70 with a canjar trigger, a ruger 77 with a timney, a rem 22 with a gunked up trigger, a kimber with a too lightly adjusted trigger. I had a 700 bdl for years and never had an issue. I guess my point is any gun can have this problem, if improperly maintained or modified / adjusted improperly. The way I corrected the above guns, adjusted the 77, no issues, cleaned the trig group on the 22, no issues, adjusted the mauser , no issues, adjusted the kimber, no issues, the 70 with the canjar only does it if you hold the trigger while closing the bolt and have the safety in the number 2 position (a friend found that that one, why he did it was a mystery, but good to know). So is remington evil, I doubt it, and if the snipers have so many issues with this rifle why would they keep using it? I wouldn’t, I buy my own rifle if that was my living and I didn’t feel safe with the equipment provided.
    Keep your muzzle in a safe direction and you’ll never kill anything accidentally.

  4. gunwriter says:

    This from a friend that was a former Marine Sniper and Sniper School instructor (Maintenance and Safety – I’m sure there are very few rifles that get the same level of use as those the Marines use):

    Richard,

    I am very familiar with this issue. My experience with the Rem 700 pertaining to unintentional discharges is what we used to call a “slam fire”. Meaning that when the bolt was locked down the weapon system would fire if it was off safe. This could also happen if the weapon had a round in the chamber and when the shooter pushed the safety lever forward into the “fire” position, the weapon would fire.

    As a student, we were informed of this potential very soon into our weapon familiarization class. As an instructor it’s something that we needed to be very in tune with. I’ve seen it happen a few times. Nothing that I would label as a regular occurrence, but there were incidents; both when the bolt was locked down and removing the weapons’ safety. Mainly this happened with very old actions with very loose bolts and safeties. I have never seen with happen with the newer Remington actions.

    As always (it should go without saying) adhering to the 5 safety rules will always prevent injury/death in the event of a negligent/unintentional discharge.

    Caylen Wojcik
    Central Cascade Precision
    http://www.ccptraining.com
    509.480.9839

    “He Who Hesitates Dies First”

Leave a Reply

