XS 24/7 Sight Sense

When I tell folks I have XS 24/7 Sights on my carry guns I often here a comment something like, “Yeah, those sights are fast but no good at longer ranges and are not suited for competition.” I assume this comes from the preconceived notion that because these sights are big and not of the conventional notch and post configuration, they won’t work at long range.

First off, a self defense handgun is not a long range weapon. Secondly, a self defense handgun is not a competition handgun. A self defense handgun is one you use to survive a deadly, close quarters encounter with close quarters being something inside 25 yards and very likely much, much closer.

Additionally, I’ve not found a problem hitting torso size targets out to 50 yards with the XS Sights. It’s 52 yards from my porch to my steel targets. About every other day I step out there with my Gaboon or a GP 100 and whack the steel four or five times using the big – close range only – XS Sights.

XS Sights emulate the express style sights popular on stopping rifles used for dangerous game. And, if you are attacked by some fiendish villain the situation will be one best described as dangerous. Sights on a pistol you intend to employ in a hurry need to be big and easy to see.

I think my friend Dave Biggers at XS Sights says it best, “Friends don’t let friends carry target sights.”

XS 24/7 sights on a Ruger GP 100 in .327 Federal Magnum.

]

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in THIS & THAT and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to XS 24/7 Sight Sense

  1. Aaron Spuler says:

    I look forward to the day that I can get enough land to shoot off my front porch…

  2. gunwriter says:

    Aaron,
    I don’t know how its possible to be an effective gunwriter and have to do all your shooting at the range. I couldn’t do it.
    RAM

  3. Vic says:

    Yep, they can say what they want but both my 1991 A-1’s got em. I don’t shoot bulls eye matches with them but I do all right in the IDPA and some of the 3 gun matches. The only reason I don’t score better is due to lack of practice. Plus I need to change my match loads some what to make it shoot point of aim. Well winter time is on the way so if I don’t get too lazy I might work on that. XS sights are the ones I bet my life on. Hey Richard we need to have a try at a 100 yards. I bet with a little practice we can start getting some good hits.

Leave a Reply

