What a week!

I don’t consider myself a whiner. But, every dog has its day.

I was sick on Saturday so I missed taking my kids to the NSSF First Shots event at our local range. Drema took them and they had a blast. There were over 150 kids there to shoot and my 3, 6, and 10 year old children all pulled triggers and hit targets.

My son Bat missed his football game because he was recovering from a hand injury he got at practice.

Sunday wasn’t much better. Football on TV most of the day. I’m not really an all day football guy but was glued to the couch.

Monday my father went into the hospital.

Wednesday Bat got hurt again at practice and we spent all night in the ER. Bad sprain.

Thursday I had Bat and his sister at home. He was crippled and she was sick. Dad came home too.

Friday – today – Bat still cannot walk without assistance and his other sister was at home sick.

I’m still sick though now able to work. The radioactive discharge from my nasal passages has changed from a pale yellow to a color that I cannot find in my little girl’s Crayola 64 pack. (I don’t mind posting photos you won’t see in a magazine here but you’re going to have to use your imagination on this one.)

Somehow I did manage to get some writing done (Almost 7000 words.) but no photos. I’ll have to try and put those together on Saturday.

I’m praying the Z-Pack the doctor game me pulls me through to next week a new man. I guess its a good thing I didn’t go to Texas Monday.

I did hear from Melvin Forbes at New Ultra Light Arms today. My model 20 short action in .30 Remington AR is almost ready. Maybe in time for a Wyoming pronghorn hunt!

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

