Can’t Sleep – Martinez AGAIN

I don’t really know what’s gotten into me lately. I thought I’d done growed up a long time ago. I’ve always like to read but mostly history on early America, the Civil War or WW 1 fighter pilots. Of course there were the Leather Stocking tales where I met the only hero to come close to my father and he was functional culmination of a number of great frontiersmen.

Then I ran across this guy A. Lee Martinez. He writes about  freaky, totally unrealistic stuff like demons, monsters, witches and such, intermingling most with normalcy in our human society. I’m sorry, I’m hooked. Mom read fictional westerns before she passed. She would even do it while hunting. I never understood. Now maybe I do.

You see Martinez’s books let you escape and not try to rationalize the actions of the characters because they are so different you can’t. He has created weird things as characters and you understand from the outset that they will not think like adults, maybe children, but not reasonable adults. You never know what is going to happen and I LIKE it taht way.

I’ve read four of his books so far, all on airplanes or in motel rooms. The first was

Monster

MONSTER, it was the one what got me started down this evil road and I would highly recommend it, yeti and all, for the adventuring sort.  The second Martinez book was a bit different, just as funny but maybe not as good of a story, it was DIVINE MISFORTUNE

Divine Intervention

After this short novel I struggled with my next choice of the six remaining Martinez books. From the great book store on my computer I ordered GIL’s ALL FRIGHT DINNER and IN THE COMPANY OF ORGES. I completed Dinner to and from Gunsite and Ogers while in Connecticut. actually I finished it it in Dulles airport at 10:43 PM and hesitantly proclaimed it the best of the lot so far.

In The Company of Ogres

I gave in yesterday and Amazoned two more of Martinez’s books to my house for my trip next week to test ammo in Missouri and my upcoming Texas trip to hunt with Bill Wilson..Guess what? I started reading one of them last night for crying out loud!

NOPE, you won’t read much at all about guns in Martinez’s books but the characters are cool and I’ll bet you find folks you know that resemble Frank the Orge, Never Dead Ned and many others. The stories are appealing too.

I’ll keep you posted on which book is the best and how my addiction comes along while I hope the old boy is sending another off to his editor right now. I really can’t expaline why I’m drawn to these books. Maybe I played to much Dungeons & Dragons when I was a kid.

Too Many Curses

Nameless Witch

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY, NEW / COOL GEAR, STORIES & SUCH, THIS & THAT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t Sleep – Martinez AGAIN

  1. Jim Dodd says:

    I have a one-click, free shipping account at amazon.com, now that is addictive in and of itself…jim

  2. gunwriter says:

    Tell me about it!

    RAM

Leave a Reply

