Internet Gremlins

Yesterday my e-mail was on the fritz. Last night at about 11 the Internet went out. Today at about 2:30 PM they got it fixed and my e-mail was on the fritz again.

I counted up the calls I have had to the help desk since April: 16!

Now, its not because I am stupid – Don’t ask my mother-in-law about that – Its not my fault when the Internet does not work. I live five miles from a city. Not a big city but a real city and have DSL. You would think it not that hard to keep my Internet working.

Maybe its just the hillbilly curse. We are supposed to still be in bare feet and living with our cousins, right? Maybe West Virginians have not advanced to the point they are able to have working Internet. If Senator Byrd was still around I bet he could get some Federal assistance to correct this.

The guys that come to work on my Internet are local guys and most are shooters. They are dedicated and accommodating but it would appear they are working with crap equipment. I appreciate their efforts and have given them empty brass and other goodies. At least now I have a cell number I can call to get help fast.

I guess the good news is that I spent all day actually writing. Also set up a land navigation course for my son to test out the new Bushnell Backtrack Point 5. What a great outdoor gadget. If you are a hunter or outdoor person order one of these today. $ 79.98 here.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

