4 August 2010 – Day 52 – Remembering Ireland

It was hot here today. 96 with 70% humidity. I completed an article for the NRA InSights magazine about the five things every deer hunter should know and my Gunwriter Assistant sold his first article today too. In case you are not familiar with the InSights magazine, it is the NRA’s magazine for kids.

I also tested an additional four handloads for the 30 Rem AR. (I used the once fired brass I made the other day.) The average group size for four different handloads – 3 shot groups at 100 yards – was 0.86! That’ll do donkey! It also looks like Bil Wilson might be right and that Relaoder 10X is the powder. Benchmark worked well too.

Last night I talked to my old buddy John Barsness. I consider Barsness to be one of the best gun / outdoor writers working right now. He can even make a reloading article entertaining. John is just about ready to release his new book on hunting rifles. I would suggest you drop by John’s website and get in line now.

This morning I was remembering what might have been my best hunt ever outside of hunting with my son. Barsness, his wife and I hunted in Ireland a few years back on the estate of Lord Rosse. We even stayed in a haunted castle. It was cool to hunt the country some of my ancestors were from. I’ll never forget the last evening we were in Ireland. I was ready for some real food and convinced John and Eileen to forgo the local quisine. We ate at Pizza Hut.

Birr Castle - Home of Lord Rosse

Barsness with a Heym Double Rifle

Frosty Morning in the Irish Countryside

After six nights in Ireland we did not bring any trophies home but we took a lot of photos. If we could have had just one more night…

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4 August 2010 – Day 52 – Remembering Ireland

  1. Double D says:

    I’d make fun of you for eating at Pizza Hut, but I ate at McDonald’s on my last night in Dublin. It was the worst cheeseburger I’ve ever had. Should have stuck with the Guinness and toasties at the pub.

    I want to hear more about this hunt. It’s my dream to do some rough shooting in Ireland. And maybe find that lass with hair as black as Guinness stout (but older than 17).

    Congrats to Bat on his first assignment, but I’m not sure I need the competition.

    D

    • gunwriter says:

      The Pizza we had was great!

      Ireland was different. All spot and stalk and the deer were not really that spooky compared to whitetails in the hills around here.

      He is excited – because of the money – he could care less about being published. Guess he is like me after all.

      RAM

Leave a Reply

