Monday – 50 days

Monday for me is never that bad. I get the house all to myself with the exception of my Gunwriter Assistant who is with me everyday until school starts. I have no boss to bitch at me or fuss about me not working overtime or being lazy last week. And, really, I have no stop time, though I try to be done for the day by the time my wife and girls get home at around six.

Today I completed the write up on the Les Baer Tactical Recon rifle I used in the long range shooting course. After uploading that article I completed the testing on a bunch of different lasers. (Today was the impact and submersion test.)

My sister stopped by and I mounted a Leupold 6X on her NULA in .260 Remington. I sighted it in using Nosler ammo and fired a 1.22 inch group with the 130 AccuBond load and a 1.18 inch group with the 125 gr. Partition load. She fired a very nice 3 inch group off-hand at 50 yards and said how nice it was to finally have a good rifle that fit her.

I also started laying out the test proticol for the pistol caliber carbine article I will start on Wednesday. I’ll be testing a .45 ACP HK USC, a Bushmaster in 9mm and a new .40 S&W carbine that uses Glock 22 magazines. Its called the JR Carbine. This will be an interesting article to conduct the research and testing for. Each rifle will be fired a lot by my wife, my son and me to get an impression of how suitable it might be for home protection. I also plan to conduct some terminal performance testing to see what the bullets will do at the higher velocities.

A busy day, typical for a Monday.

However, today is also the first day of midget football practice for my gunwriter assistant. I’m looking forward to that but it also signifies the end of summer. From now on its football, shooting and hunting until after Christmas. Sounds terrible don’t it?

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday – 50 days

  1. Jim Dodd says:

    Can you get a H-K P31S in .40 S&W too (the world wonders)?…jim dodd

Leave a Reply

