July 1, 2010 – Travel & Such

I must be busy, I noticed twice now I have listed the dates on posts as July. Well, Now it is July and time to start traveling.

Next week I must go to my hunting camp located in Hampshire County, WV – only a couple hours from DC – to build a new bathroom and install a Direct TV Dish. The current bathroom built as an exterior addition is, well, falling off the camp. I hope my limited carpentering skills of 21 years ago have improved. This bathroom will be an interior addition.

The following Wednesday I leave for a Surefire sponsored event. Its a 4-day, Long Range Rifle Course with  Central Cascade Precision near Yakima, WA. I’ll be shooting a Les Baer bolt-action in .308 Winchester. You will see a write up of the training and the rifle in Shooting Illustrated magazine.

I return on Monday and leave again on Thursday for Nebraska to participate in the Shooting Industry Masters. This is a shooting match for members of the industry – mostly manufacturers. Last year I helped run the handgun stage of the event. This year I will be shooting on Team Timney. In conjunction with this event these is the Academy of Excellence Awards. This is similar to the Academy Awards you are all familiar with but manufacturers are awarded praise for the products they introduced during the previous year. Its a big deal to be nominated and Timney was for their 870 Trigger Fix.

Then I have a break until the 19th of August when Drema and I will attend a three day course at Gunsite. The premise of the course will be a basic level handgun course for women with instruction on working together with their significant other as a team. I don’t qualify for the women part but might make Drema’s significant other list. (I’m on it today but that’s almost two months away!)

Hopefully between Nebraska and Arizona we can squeak in another, short family vacation.

On September 13th its off to Texas with XS Sights. We will be training at TAC PRO with carbines. Bill Davison, a former Royal Marine who runs TAC PRO, is a great guy and a great instructor!

November 1 I’ll be in Wyoming hunting Mule Deer with D&D Outfitters. I’ll be using a Sisk CSR in .308 Winchester on this hunt topped with a Nikon Monarch Gold 2.5-10X50. I have not decided what ammo I will be uisng.

I return from that hunt on Friday and leave the following Friday, again for Wyoming. This will be another mule deer hunt with Scott & Angie Denny of Table Mountain Outfitters. Hopefully I’ll be using my .30 Remington AR on this hunt which is sponsored by Cabela’s.

The week after that, buck season opens in WV and I plan to be out behind the house with my Gunwriter Assistant helping him tag his fourth deer. The second week I’ll be back at my camp enjoying the comforts of Direct TV and a brand new indoor outhouse.

If I am lucky, somewhere in amongst all that I will complete enough articles to pay my bills. Its doable but questionable.

NEW COMPUTER

On a completely different note. My current computer is on its last leg. It has a tendency to just look at me sometimes – not doing nothing, just looking at me. With almost 500 GIG of photos stored on the hard drive and backed up on another drive, this machine has developed a serious case of alzheimers. I’ve had enough. When I pick my new one up tomorrow and spend the weekend loading it up I just might use the one I have for terminal performance testing.

Cameras, hard drives and computers are the tools of the trade. I;m not much of a typist but have finally excelled to the point I can type faster than my old computer can think. I’m not bragging, my old computer is .45/70 slow!

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 1, 2010 – Travel & Such

  1. Double D says:

    What computer did you get? I’m in serious need of a new one as this is one has click-and-wait technology. I swear I could read a novel in the time is takes to switch windows sometimes.

    • gunwriter says:

      DD,

      I went with Dell and a big hard drive. Powering it up tonight. I’ll have more info next week.

      224-9814 1 Studio XPS 7100 Minitower
      317-4720 1 Studio Phenom II X6 1035T 2.6GHz
      320-8970 1 ATI Radeon HD 5450 1024MB
      317-9816 1 6GB DDR3 SDRAM,1333MHz, 2x2GB+2x1GB
      342-9149 1 1TB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drive 7200 RPM

Leave a Reply

