June 28th, 2010 – Day 15

No gunwriting today.

It was the last day of a three day vacation. Spent 2.5 hours in Smokey Mountain Knife Works with the kids. They purchased various sharp things and I picked up a six dollar knife sharpener and a box of Band Aids. Drove home, mowed half the yard and called it a day. I plan to find the couch and watch the last episode of TOP SHOT my DVR hopefully recorded while we were gone.

I’m tired. We had a nice place to stay but the girls managed to root me out of my bed and I was regulated to the worst mattress in Tennessee. That coupled with a put-put golf game  with three kids age 3, 6, and 10, that I was sure would never end (No Tiger’s in my family.) and I feel like I just went 6.3 seconds with Brock Lesnar.

The UPS man did leave my new Timney AR 15 trigger in the door. This will correct the creepy trigger on my Remington R15 in .30 Remington AR. I have several good handloads worked up for this rifle and this trigger and a Leupold 1.5-5X with a German # 4 reticle will round this rifle out.

On a more personal note, today was my Mom’s birthday. She passed two years ago on my birthday. Mom hunted when she was pregnant with me – guess that’s why I am the way I am. She showed me how you can kill multiple squirrels from one spot and cooked the first squirrel I ever killed. She also showed me how to be a good person and a parent. Maybe most importantly, she kept the only hero I’ve ever had – my father – happy for 55 years.

About gunwriter

Born and raised in the West Virginia hills, Richard literally grew up in the woods. He has chased coon hounds until daylight, waited out whitetails perched high in an oak, canoed the New River and hunted from the Montana Mountains to the Green Hills of Africa. During service in the Army and later as a municipal police officer and Special Agent with the railroad police, Richard obtained numerous certifications in small arms instruction. He has trained military personnel, law enforcement officers and civilians in the application of firearms for defensive, competitive and recreational use. Richard won the West Virginia Governor’s Twenty Award for law enforcement, the West Virginia National Guard State Pistol Competition and earned his Distinguished Medal with pistol. Badge turned in, Richard is now a contributing editor for several magazines. He was the compiling author of the book, Rifle Bullets for the Hunter and conceptualized and contributed to Selecting and Ordering a Custom Hunting Rifle. Richard also contributed a chapter to the John Velke book, The True Story of the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency. Richard has patents on a riflescope reticle and a revolutionary bullet testing media. A hillbilly at heart, Richard lives on Shadowland - his shooting range in West Virginia - with the most understanding wife in the world, their three kids and a very protective ridgeback hound.
This entry was posted in JUST ANOTHER DAY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to June 28th, 2010 – Day 15

  1. Judy Bolen says:

    Dickie..loved reading your comments about Richard and Avilee (mom and dad)..so touching.

  2. gunwriter says:

    Thanks Judy. I was, without a doubt, lucky to experience their influence.

    RAM

  3. Tony Yates says:

    You were very blessed to have such a Mom, you know she is still watching over her brood. I lost my my unexpectly when I was an 18 yr old Marine, it’s always tough.
    Take care and make her proud. You must live in western NC or East Tennessee.
    I live in Winston-Salem, N.C. I enjoy reading your writings.
    Sincerely,
    Tony Yates

  4. gunwriter says:

    Thanks Tony ! !

    West Virginia. 15 minutes from the VA line on 77.

    RAM

  5. Lisa Snuggs says:

    Great memory of your mom. Perhaps “Empty Cases” would make a suitable book title for your memoirs. We’ve tried to get my dad to write his “people-I’ve-met-through-my-career-as-an-outdoor-writer” book, but, sadly, it’s not happening. I encourage to start your book now. Your kids will love you for it.

  6. gunwriter says:

    We have been pushing Dad to do the same. His three years in a military hospital after Korea is filled with some great stories.

Leave a Reply

